Music Review - The Magic Continues - Celebrity Series Vol. 1

~ Posted on Wednesday, September 5, 2012 at 7:14 AM ~

I received an email pitch seeking bloggers to review this children CD. The few things that caught my attention were:

- children CD!

- packed with 20 classic songs and stories!

- combines the beautifully orchestrated original recordings with the talent of today’s biggest and brightest stars!

In case you don't know, I often play music and songs in the background while my 3 years old boy do his activities (Lego or pretend play mostly) as we were told that children learned even though they just listen to the sound or songs or music. In fact, my SIL even recommended me to play the National Geography videos or series on the TV and just let my kids listened to it. She said we'll be surprised to know how much our kids can absorb and learned by just listening!

Because of that I went on a search to look for nice, educational and fun songs to play as background music. The song I have on my list is Luther Frank's "Manners Can Be Fun" which I think really helps as I found my boy humming and singing parts of the song back to me! Of course, I also used the opportunity to teach my boy about manners and that it is a fun thing to watch out for our manners too!

So yes, I am so so so happy to be able to review this album as I get to add more songs and wonderful stories to my background music/song album now! Anyway, without further delay, here goes my review...

I'm a full-time mummy

* Title: Golden Records: The Magic Continues - Celebrity Series Vol. 1
* Price: $9.99 Audio CD (September 4th, 2012)
  * ASIN: B008SUE9LU
 * Label: Verse Music Group

About Golden Records:

"Golden Records was one of the first and ultimately most successful children’s record labels in America. Grammy Award-winning producer Arthur Shimkin imagined the iconic label in 1948. Through rich orchestration and the use of A-list talent, Golden Records created a timeless, one of a kind sound, releasing beloved songs and stories that entertained and educated children for decades.

Back by popular demand, Golden Records returns to release a series of highly anticipated albums, launching a series of instant classics and remastered original recordings to come. Award-winning music producer Tony Shimkin, son of Golden Records creator, Arthur Shimkin, has carried on his father’s legacy, producing each of the releases, reimagined for the child in all of us!"

I'm a full-time mummy

What a wonderful collection of songs and stories in this album! Some fun and entertaining songs such as "Yankee Doodle (Didi Conn)", "Who's Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf (Did Conn)" and "The Muffin Man (Didi Conn)" and "Jack B. Nimble (Ed Asner)" really brings back memories to me! I love the fact that my kids can now enjoy listening to these timeless classics!

As for stories, I really love listening to "Cinderella (Busy Philipps)", it just reminds me of the giant Disney story book I used to have when I was a little girl. I also used the opportunity in the "The Story of Goldilocks (Alicia Silverstone)" to teach my 3 years old boy manners, that we have to ask permission before using other people's things/properties.

Some of the celebrities' voices are so so convincing and soothing to listen to! I never expected Alicia Silverstone's voice could be so captivating! And Susan Sarandon's voice is truly charming and one of a kind! I also find myself dreaming while I listened to Ed Asner's voice in "The Little Engine That Could".

Not only is this album truly fun and entertaining, it also open up my eyes and I learned some new things too! To be honest, until I listened to the "Snow White And Rose Red (Cheryl Hines)" I did not know there is a Rose Red character!

To sum up my review, this album is a must to have! Seriously, you really really REALLY need to get yourself a copy of the album NOW NOW NOW!

I'm a full-time mummy

You can purchase it from Amazon, Wal-mart and iTunes Store.

* You can download a free music from their Facebook page too!

** Btw, I am so privileged to be given the opportunity to giveaway a copy of this album to 1 lucky US resident! Watch out for the giveaway on 8th Sept 2012!

I'm a full-time mummy

I received no monetary compensation for this review, I was provided with the 20-tracks album in MP3 format to assist my review. All opinions expressed in this post are my own. Please do your own research when purchasing products, as your opinions may differ from mine.

I'm a full-time mummy

Comments are closed